Header image  
    Home | PCI Homepage | Overview | Honorable Mentions | Award Juries | Find a PCI Certified Member | 2011 Awards | Contact

Special Awards Jury


large product photo   Thomas McCluskey
Jason P. Lien
George K. Tuhowski III
(left to right)



Thomas McCluskey, S.E.
Company: McCluskey Engineering Corp.
Location: Naperville, Ill.
Position: Founder and director

Thomas McCluskey is a graduate of the University of Illinois at Chicago and is a licensed structural engineer. McCluskey is the founder and director of McCluskey Engineering Corp., located in Naperville, Ill., and past president of the Structural Engineers Association of Illinois. He has published several articles on various engineering topics and has lectured throughout the country on precast concrete design and emergency preparedness.

Jason P. Lien, P.E.
Company: EnCon United
Location: Denver, Colo.
Position: Vice president of design

Jason P. Lien was formerly the president and one of the founding members of StructureWorks, a software development company specializing in the design and detailing of precast/prestressed concrete structures. He is now the vice president of design at EnCon United, and has been with the company since 2007. He has an AAS in Civil Engineering Technology from the State University of New York—Farmingdale in Farmingdale, N.Y., and a BS and MS in Engineering Systems from the Colorado School of Mines in Golden, Colo. Lien has been an adjunct faculty member at the Colorado School of Mines and has experience as a design engineer, special projects engineer, and engineering manager. He is a registered professional civil engineer in Colorado, California, New Mexico, and Wyoming; a member of the Structural Engineers Association of Colorado (SEOC) and PCI’s Continuing Education and Technical Activities committees; and is the chairman of PCI’s Building Information Modeling (BIM) Committee.  

George K. Tuhowski III, LEED AP BD+C
Company: U.S. Green Building Council, Illinois chapter
Location: Chicago, Ill.
Position: Board chair

George K. Tuhowski III, an active member of the U.S. Green Building Council since 2004, chair of its Illinois chapter, and cochair of its nationally recognized Education and Research Committee, is the general superintendent and director of sustainability at the Leopardo Cos. Tuhowski oversees 60 superintendents responsible for building 300+ projects a year. This work includes monitoring of the entire field and supervisory force, strict procedure compliance, and quality control and safety on all construction projects; long-term planning for superintendent placement and advancement; and conducting ongoing industry training. As Leopardo's director of sustainability, Tuhowski is the leading advocate of sustainable design, construction, and operation.


Buildings Jury


large product photo   Walter Hainsfurther
Jay Longo

Stuart Howard
Katie Gerfen
Gregory Georgis
(left to right)

Walter Hainsfurther, FAIA
Company: Kurtz Associates Architects
Location: Des Plaines, Ill.
Position: President


Jay Longo, R.A., AIA, LEED AP
Company: Gensler
Location: Chicago, Ill.
Position: Senior associate


Company: Royal Architectural Institute of Canada
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Position: President elect

Stuart Howard is principal of Stuart Howard Architects Inc., a ten-person, design-oriented architectural practice in Vancouver, BC, Canada. Howard, a registered architect in British Columbia, Washington, and California, has been the designer and principal in charge of over 350 buildings throughout British Columbia, the Pacific Northwest, and the Caribbean.

Katie Gerfen
Company: Architect magazine
Location: Washington, D.C.
Position: Senior editor


Gregory Georgis
Company: Georgis Design+Development
Location: Rockford, Ill.
Position: President

Gregory Georgis formed Georgis Design+Development LLC with the goal of developing and consulting on unique projects throughout the United States. At Georgis Design+Development, he takes on multiple roles, including designer, architect, project/construction manager, consultant, developer, and financier. Georgis also serves as design director for Cody Design Group Inc., a diversified architectural firm based in Naperville, Ill.


Transportation Jury


large product photo   Myint Lwin
Ralph Anderson
Vijay Chandra
(left to right)


Myint Lwin, P.E., S.E.
Company: Federal Highway Administration
Location: Washington, D.C.
Position: Director, Office of Bridge Technology

At FHWA, Myint Lwin is responsible for setting polices and direction for the national highway bridge program, management of the national bridge inventory and inspection standards, and advancing bridge technologies while partnering with AASHTO, industry members, and academia. He has written avidly on the subject of self-consolidating concrete and is a member of many vital industry committees. He is a registered professional engineer in civil and structural engineering in the state of Washington.

Ralph Anderson, P.E., S.E.
Company: Illinois Department of Transportation
Location: Springfield, Ill.
Position: Bureau chief, Bridges & Structures


Vijay Chandra, P.E., S.E.
Company: PB Americas Inc.
Position: Senior vice president and director of structures

Vijay Chandra is a senior vice president and director of structures for PB Americas Inc., managing over 300 engineers nationwide. He was the chief bridge engineer for the Central Artery/Tunnel Project. He has over 40 years of experience and is a registered engineer in many states. He was the chair of the PCI Committee on Bridges, a member of the PCI Committee on Transportation, and a member of the Post-Tensioning Institute committees on bridges and stay cables. Chandra is also a member of many national and international organizations. He has authored many papers and presented them at national and international conferences.